History

The Capital Management Club was formed in 2009 by undergraduates at the University with a passion for investing. The original group included 30 hard-working business students that collectively managed a long-short limited partnership. Members performed rigorous industry and company analysis in presenting ideas to the Club's portfolio managers.

 

In 2014, the Club was re-organized in association with the Business School's Hawk Center for Applied Investment Analysis to broaden participation and shift the focus primarily from portfolio management and market analysis to security analysis and issue selection, which better aligns with the interest of members. The Club regularly meets to review member investment pitches. Pitches receiving a favorable vote from at least 60% of members are purchased in a real-money portfolio sponsored by Hawk Center.

  

The initial portfolio donation from the Hawk Center of $100,000 has since grown to an over $230,000 real world equity portfolio.  The students are grateful for the initial donation and have learned from executing transactions and watching the results over time. The "Portfolio Analyst" designation is awarded to students actively participating in Club activities after they have demonstrated competence in security analysis and successfully completed a pitch to the group. Associate membership is open to any student interested in investing.  All members receive access to and training in using the Factset Research service and gain additional exposure to Bloomberg.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

            The Capital Management Club is committed to creating and supporting an environment made up of members from all backgrounds. Diversity and inclusion helps foster a high level of innovation and achievement, and we value the unique ways each person’s identity, culture, and background can help serve to better our organization and our community.  

 

            As a business organization, we recognize that the business field as a whole needs to make improvements regarding DEI. The Capital Management Club is a part of that, but we promise to commit ourselves to making this club one where people of all identities are accepted. By working together to implement new initiatives, we will continue to achieve excellence, while building an environment that is welcoming and inclusive for all. 

 

Executive Board

IMG_2848.JPG

Thomas
Graeb

  • LinkedIn

PRESIDENT

IMG_1776.JPG

Jonathan
Gary

  • LinkedIn

VICE PRESIDENT

IMG_4153.jpeg

Sam
Stelling

  • LinkedIn

TREASURER

1610390897239.jpeg

Jake Shefchik

  • LinkedIn

PITCH LOGISTICS

1640892576466.jpeg

Kiran
Jacob

  • LinkedIn

CAREER DEVELOPMENT MANAGER

IMG_1875.JPG

Logan Rehwinkel

  • LinkedIn

SOCIAL EVENTS CHAIR

IMG_0674.JPEG

Jake Rivard

  • LinkedIn

SPEAKER EVENTS COORDINATOR

5DB0E078-B71B-4E84-BB01-B3D78D7FD134.JPG

Sam Fischer

  • LinkedIn

SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER

Stefania Lawrence

  • LinkedIn

DEI CHAIR

Yijing Yang

  • LinkedIn

DEI MEMBER

Koby Porter

  • LinkedIn

DEI MEMBER

Michael Kinzfogl

  • LinkedIn

DEI MEMBER

Business Meeting
1637040422060.jpeg
1651801299126.jpeg
IMG_7731_Facetune_11-02-2022-13-07-50.heic
 
 

Portfolio Analysts

Meerah Thompson - mmthompson5@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

 

Sam Komisar - sakomisar@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Luke Heinen - lhheinen@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

AJ Ervinervin2@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn

Ryan Garson - garson2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Anthony Smith - ansmith27@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Jake Stevens - jfstevens@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Maxwell Silverman - mesilverman3@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Kiran Jacob- kajacob2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Davis Barthen - dbarthen@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Akul Athmaram - athmaram@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Maz Anwar - manwar3@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Ryan Burnett - rdburnett@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Finn Williams - fdwilliams2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Jake Rivard - jrivard2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Logan Rehwinkel- lrehwinkel@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Sam Stelling- sjstelling@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Thomas Graeb- graeb@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Sheldon Dengsdeng44@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn

 

Charles Forbescrforbes@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn

Evan Salentineesalentine@wisc.edu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
LinkedIn

Terjuan Short - tshort2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Teddy Wegehaupt - twegehaupt@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Ethan Rupp - erupp@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Matt Wadhwa - mfwadhwa@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023

LinkedIn

Sawyer Sullivan - smsullivan7@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Alex Guggisberg - aguggisberg@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Jake Schefchik - jwshefchik@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Olivia Barfnecht - barfnecht@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Nick Byrnes - nsbyrnes@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Jonathan Gary - jxgary@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Koby Porter - kjporter2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Michael Kinzfogl - mkinzfogl@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Sam Fischer - sdfischer2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Stefania Lawrence - smlawrence4@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Tyler Chapman - tschampan@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

 

Resume Book

Faculty Advisor

Greg Edwards

Co-Director of the Hawk Center for Investment Analysis

greg.edwards@wisc.edu

3547 Grainger Hall

  • LinkedIn