top of page

History

Capital Management Club was formed in 2009 by undergraduates at the University with a passion for investing. The original group included 30 hard-working business students that collectively managed a long-short limited partnership. Members performed rigorous industry and company analysis in presenting ideas to the Club's portfolio managers.

 

In 2014, the Club was re-organized in association with the Business School's Hawk Center for Applied Investment Analysis to broaden participation and shift the focus primarily from portfolio management and market analysis to security analysis and issue selection, which better aligns with the interest of members. The Club regularly meets to review member investment pitches. Pitches receiving a favorable vote from at least 60% of members are purchased in a real-money portfolio sponsored by Hawk Center.

  

The initial portfolio donation from the Hawk Center of $100,000 has since grown to an over $230,000 real world equity portfolio.  The students are grateful for the initial donation and have learned from executing transactions and watching the results over time. The "Portfolio Analyst" designation is awarded to students actively participating in Club activities after they have demonstrated competence in security analysis and successfully completed a pitch to the group. Associate membership is open to any student interested in investing.  All members receive access to and training in using the Factset Research service and gain additional exposure to Bloomberg.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

            The Capital Management Club is committed to creating and supporting an environment made up of members from all backgrounds. Diversity and inclusion helps foster a high level of innovation and achievement, and we value the unique ways each person’s identity, culture, and background can help serve to better our organization and our community.  

 

            As a business organization, we recognize that the business field as a whole needs to make improvements regarding DEI. The Capital Management Club is a part of that, but we promise to commit ourselves to making this club one where people of all identities are accepted. By working together to implement new initiatives, we will continue to achieve excellence, while building an environment that is welcoming and inclusive for all. 

DIVERSITY, EQUTY, & INCLUSION

Executive Board

DSC01764_edited.jpg

Jake Rivard

  • LinkedIn

President

LnHeadshotColor.png

Andrew Meuler

  • LinkedIn

Vice President

ES Headshot.jpg

Ethan Shefchik

  • LinkedIn

Treasurer

IMG_4153.jpeg

Samuel Stelling

  • LinkedIn

Pitch Logistics

Thomas Graeb

  • LinkedIn

Career Development

PB Headshot.jpeg

Penny Berens

  • LinkedIn

Social Chair

LG Headshot_edited.jpg

Liam Gerard

  • LinkedIn

Speaker Events Coordinator

RJ Headshot.jpg

Roze Javid

  • LinkedIn

Social Media Manager

IMG_2848.JPG
HH Headshot.jpeg
SC Headshot.jpg
KC Headshot.jpeg
PJ Headshot.jpg

Hannah Hall

  • LinkedIn

Spencer Calloway

  • LinkedIn

DEI CHAIR

DEI MEMBER

IMG_1776.JPG

Jonathan Gary
 

  • LinkedIn

Kyle Carter

  • LinkedIn

DEI MEMBER

Patrick Jungles

  • LinkedIn

DEI MEMBER

IMG_1875.JPG

Logan Rehwinkel

  • LinkedIn

Mentorship Coordinator

EXECUTIVE BOARD
ADVISORS

Portfolio Analysts

Kiran Jacob- kajacob2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Davis Barthen - dbarthen@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Akul Athmaram - athmaram@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Maz Anwar - manwar3@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Ryan Burnett - rdburnett@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Alex Buchholz - anbuchholz@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Jake Rivard - jrivard2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Logan Rehwinkel - lrehwinkel@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Sam Stelling - sjstelling@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Thomas Graeb - graeb@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Will Kiser - wkiser@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Tanner Bence - tbence@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Jeffery Hecht - jrhecht@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Jack Stell - jstell@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Mason Strain - mstrain@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Andrew Meuler - andrew.meuler@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Ethan Shefchik - eshefchik@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Alex Ariker - aariker@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Thomas Dupont - tcdupont@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Colin Pieroth - cpieroth@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Sawyer Sullivan - smsullivan7@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Alex Guggisberg - aguggisberg@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Jake Schefchik - jwshefchik@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Olivia Barfnecht - barfnecht@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Nick Byrnes - nsbyrnes@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Finn Williams - fdwilliams2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024

LinkedIn

Jonathan Gary - jxgary@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Michael Kinzfogl - mkinzfogl@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Sam Fischer - sdfischer2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Stefania Lawrence - smlawrence4@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Jacob Hoertdoerfer - jhoertdoerfe@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Tyler Chapman - tschampan@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Caden Piefer - c.piefer@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Matthew Shapiro - msshapiro3@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Spencer Callaway - scallaway@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Peter Culp - pculp@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025

LinkedIn

Liam Gerard - liam.gerard@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Colin Foley - cmfoley@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Adam Dolan - acdolan@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

Charlie Wheeler - cmwheeler2@wisc.edu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026

LinkedIn

PORTFOLIO ANALYSTS

M&A Coordinator

Resume Book

Faculty Advisor

Greg Edwards

Co-Director of the Hawk Center for Investment Analysis

greg.edwards@wisc.edu

3547 Grainger Hall

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page